Planning At Home Date Night

So the one I love has gone back to work. This is good on some levels, but really sucky on others. He hates the position he’s in now.

He also probably won’t get to go see Tom Petty with me this summer if he’s still in the same position. I’m going to wait a few weeks before I start trying to find someone else who could go with me – I was really looking forward to having this as a small vacation for myself & the one I love.

Enter total depressed mode about all this.

I don’t know when I should start asking around if someone else would like to go with me. I want to give him a chance to either earn some personal time or get back into the weld shop & possibly be able to go. I don’t want to ask someone to go with me & then be like “oh wait, sorry, he can go after all!” But I also don’t want to wait so long that I end up going all the way up there by myself. I just don’t know what to do.

I might ask my dad’s girlfriend if she’d like to go. I think she’d be a blast to hang out with & would totally understand being  “stand by” in case the one I love can go.

***

Anyway, back to planning date night.

Since the one I love is back at work I won’t get to see him as often. So cooking during the week for him won’t be happening. So this weekend I have planned an amazing dinner.

Chicken topped with sauteed spinach & mushrooms. Then topped with melted Swiss cheese.
Rice pilaf.
Roasted asparagus with dijon sauce.

Then probably rent a movie & just chill out.

***

Chicken w/ sauteed spinach & mushrooms & melted Swiss cheese

1lb (usually 3 to a pound) of boneless skinless chicken breast
3 slices Sargento Ultra Thin Swiss cheese
Baby spinach
Sliced mushrooms
Minced garlic
Worcestershire Sauce
1T Olive Oil
Salt, Pepper, Red pepper flakes
2T Hormel Real Bacon Bits

Saute the spinach & mushrooms in the olive oil, worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic, & bacon bits until the mushrooms are cooked through & the spinach is wilted.

Spray a baking dish with cooking spray & lay the chicken in. Top the chicken with the mixture & bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Remove from the oven & top with a slice of swiss cheese. Place back in the oven for 5-10 minutes until the cheese is melted & the chicken is cooked through.

I haven’t made this before, but I’m sure it will be delish! And even better than that, at 3 servings (because I usually see a pound of chicken as 3 breasts) it comes out to 7pts a serving!

One thought on “Planning At Home Date Night

Leave a Reply

