Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

I made these for the office lake party.

Sadly, there are no pictures.

I followed a recipe I found on The Stepford Wife and they were a HUGE hit! Everyone loved them & they were gone in no time. Also super easy because it uses boxed cake mix instead of making them from scratch, and everyone was shocked when I told them that!

***

For the Cake
1 box Duncan Hines Chocolate Fudge cake mix
3 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup Guinness stout
** This is what my box cake called for, use whatever your box cake calls for but sub out the water for the Guinness.
 
For the Ganache Filling
8 oz dark chocolate chips
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup heavy cream
1 airplane bottle Jameson Irish Whiskey
 
For the Frosting
1 stick of butter, at room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar
9-10 Tbsp Bailey’s Irish Cream
Make the cupcakes as directed on the box. Once done let them cool completely.
While the cupcakes were cooling I started on the ganache filling. Heat the heavy cream on the stove until it comes to a simmer – her recipe says to do this over low heat, I am entirely too impatient & turned it up to medium after about 10 minutes of NOTHING happening!! Once it begins to simmer pour it over the chocolate chips and wait 1 minute. WAIT! Again, I’m impatient & don’t think I let the heavy cream get hot enough because I had to heat my mixture up some more because the chocolate chips wouldn’t melt. At this point add your butter & your whiskey to the mixture & stir until everything is smooth. Let it cool if it’s too warm, mine was.
While I was waiting my 1 minute I started to cut holes in the cupcakes. I didn’t have anything fancy to use, so I just used a small knife to cut a hole about 1/3 of the way down. Just enough to put some ganache in there. Once the ganache was done & all the holes were cut I filled the cupcakes to the top with ganache.
For the Baileys Butter Cream – the best part – I started by beating my butter until it was fluffy & then slowly adding the powdered sugar. The recipe I followed said to add all of the powdered sugar before adding the Baileys, but because I was using a hand electric beater & not my nice Kitchen Aid, I would add a table spoon every so often. The butter & powdered sugar mixture will start to get very crumbly, I had a small bowl & a hand mixer, it was a miss!! The Baileys helped to add some much needed moisture at that time. If you have a stand mixer I would add all of the powdered sugar before adding the Baileys. The recipe I followed called for 8T of Baileys, I might be in love with the stuff so I added more like 10. But do whatever makes you happy.
I then frosted the ganache filled cupcakes with the butter cream & sat them in the fridge to cool. I recommend putting the frosting in the fridge for a bit to let it thicken up some. By the time you’re done it’s starting to thin out some because of the heat of the beaters.
Seriously, the best cupcakes ever. I’ve already had several people ask me for the recipe. I’ll def be making these bad boys again soon!
Leave a Reply

