Chicken Stir Fry & Friday Ramblings

Last night I cooked dinner. And actually took a picture of it so I can tell y’all all about it!

This is a pretty big deal since I haven’t cooked in a few weeks. And what I have cooked has been super easy, super quick (ok – this was too!) and just not the best things for me. I’m usually cooking for the one I love & things he would like to eat. Last night, I cooked for me. Peppers, onions, and all!

chicken stir fry with cellophane noodles

Chicken Stir Fry with Cellophane Noodles

I’m sorry the picture is horribly blurry, I took it with my phone and was more worried about eating it than taking a non-blurry picture.

That being said. This was the easiest meal I’ve ever made. My only issue with it – and I have to blame myself here – was that my “stir fry mix” was only peppers and onions. Where are the water chestnuts and baby corns!! Oh well, I’ll remember to buy the better kind next time.

This whole recipe probably took about 30 minutes. That included prep, cooking, and picture taking.

I will say that I enjoy spicy things. If you don’t, either leave out some or all of the Sriracha Sauce.

Ingredients:

1 Roll Cellophane Noodles
3-4 T store bought (or homemade) Stir Fry Sauce
1T Soy Sauce
2t Sriracha Sauce
4oz Boneless/Skinless Chicken Breast
2c Frozen Stir Fry Vegetable Mix
1-2t Minced Garlic
1T Olive Oil

Directions:

1. Dice the chicken into small chunks, about 1/2 inch square.
2. Heat a pan with olive oil until hot & add the diced chicken & minced garlic until almost cooked through.
3. In a separate pot warm water & add cellophane noodles for about 2 minutes (until re-hydrated)
4. Add frozen vegetables to the pan with the chicken. Add stir fry sauce, soy sauce, & sriracha sauce to the vegetable & chicken. Cook for about for about 2 minutes. (I did this & step 3 at the same time.)
5. Add cellophane noodles & let sauce cook down for about 5 minutes.
6. Serve.

I told you. So easy. And so good. It will 100% be a regular go to week night dinner for me. I forgot how easy it was to make. And you can use any meat you want! I just happened to have some frozen chicken breasts in the freezer & thawed on out knowing I wanted chicken last night.

I use SparkPeople, so I don’t know all of the nutritional information – but here is what SP gave me. For those of you who count Fiber, I do not have the fiber content of this.

Calories: 556g
Carbs: 64g
Fat: 18g
Protein: 28g

***

On another note, I woke up this morning to snow. SNOW! In October. Yes, I do realize that there are people out there who have had several feet of snow by this point in the year – but I don’t live there. I live in Virginia. It’s too early for this.

Crazy Cows laying down in the snow!

Crazy Cows laying down in the snow!

I’m so not ok with this crazy weather. And the low for tonight is only supposed to be 25 degrees. Ok, I get that we’re coming into the cooler seasons, but 25 degrees? In October? This is just insane. Mother Nature is clearly pissed off at Virginia.

And Mr. Chocolate won’t turn the heat on in the house. I am SO not ok with that. I may have pouted and put my foot down last night. Told him he can chose between having no heat in the house or having me stay with him. Ok, I may not have put it in those exact terms. I just politely informed him that if he was going to refuse to turn the heat on again today and this upcoming weekend I would be staying at my house. Where there is heat. And I don’t walk around wrapped up in sweats and a comforter. I think I may have convinced him.

I guess that means he loves me, seeing as he’s agreed to turn on the heat and all. It’s the little things.

6 thoughts on “Chicken Stir Fry & Friday Ramblings

  1. Dude I’d be so mad about that no heat situation!
    But yum to your stir fry! Stir fry meals are always SO filling and comforting! I’m making a bit of one tonight myself, but with qunioa! YAY! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. I LOVEEEE the evening after not being able to cook at home for awhile, where you can cook up a delicious meal, wear sweats, get cozy and dig in!!! I am doing that RIGHT NOW – my dinner smells done!! 😀

    I wish I was having chicken stir fry though!! Maybe tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

