Mid-life Crisis @ 27??

Is it possible to have a mid-life at 27 years old?

MidLife-Crisis

Yesterday was my birthday. The big 2-7. The “late 20’s”.

And all this is well and good, except the fact that I’m nowhere near where I thought I’d be at 27. Growing up I always pictured myself at 27. I’d have my degree, a career I love, a wonderful husband, a kid, and a house with a big yard.

And what do really I have at 27? I don’t have my degree yet; I definitely don’t have that career I love, no husband or kid. I do have a house; a townhouse that I worked my butt off to get, but no big yard to plant flowers and run around it. But that’s ok, because I don’t have any kids who need a yard to run around in.

I just feel like at 27 years old I should have so much more. I should have done so much more with my life. I feel like at 27 years old I have nothing to show for myself. Like I’m still skating through life. I haven’t done anything grand or wonderful. I work. I go to school. I go home. And maybe my biggest fear isn’t that at 27 I haven’t accomplished what I thought I should have, but what if I don’t ever accomplish those things?

Maybe it’s what they say about Facebook; you see all the good things in other people’s lives and compare your life to their’s. They have bad times also, remember that. Maybe my biological clock is actually ticking; I never thought that would happen. Maybe I just feel stuck; while my current job isn’t bad, I’m not challenged but I can’t find another one until I finish school.

I need a change.

One thought on “Mid-life Crisis @ 27??

  1. You’re so not alone in feeling this way! Especially when one has a job (as opposed to a really meaningful career that they love) and responsibilities and all the craziness that comes with it, it’s almost impossible not to feel like life is passing you by. (I do think the whole Facebook thing adds to the sense of being totally isolated in that midlife/”is this really what adulthood is all about” discontent, too. Facebook is where things are all unicorns and rainbows, all the time, for everybody. It’s not even remotely an accurate representation of real life.)

    The good thing about that discontent, though, is that it propels you into something better. Discomfort is a sign that things need to change, and because you’re unhappy, it actually pushes you to take action. (If you were kind of happy or even just apathetic, you wouldn’t have any impetus to figure out what you really want or take action to pursue it. Discomfort and discontent compel us to take action.) You’re clearly moving in the right direction by acknowledging that you need a change, so you’re already in good shape on this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

