Gym Intimidation

Am I the only one out there that feels this?

Seriously. I have this massive love – hate relationship with my gym. And my gym is amazing! Everyone is friendly. Its clean. And feels safe. And I joined it because it’s so wonderful.

For reals. It is.

For reals. It is.

But I still feel like everyone is staring at me when I go there. Like I don’t know what I’m doing.

I HATE going to the gym.

I would much rather workout in my living room, where the only people that can see me are the furbabies and on occasion Mr. Chocolate.

I don’t want the hot guy who lifts weights & is all kinds of buff to see my jiggly butt on the elliptical. I mean, not like he matters, I have Mr. Chocolate – but let’s be honest ladies, we all want that hot guy to notice us. Just not our jiggly butts.

I don’t know why I feel this way. Honestly, I don’t give other people the stare down & be all like “Wow, you definitely don’t work out often. Look at that jiggle!!” Yeah, I don’t do that.

I might give you the stare down if you’re on the seated row machine for too long – I love that thing.

I found this article on SparkPeople to help get over the fear of gym intimidation. And it has some great tips.

The ones that stuck out in my head the most were:
1) Buddy up! – Seriously, go with a friend. There’s strength in numbers. It’s not as scary if you have someone you can pretend people are looking at instead of you. Wait, what? That’s wrong. You can distract yourself with a buddy. Have someone to chit-chat with. It makes the time go faster & occupies your mind.
2) Take Headphones. – Again, Occupy your mind. Headphones = Love! Listen to some tunes. Or if you have an awesome gym like mine that have TVs on each cardio machine watch some TV & actually be able to listen to it.
3) Just do it! – For real peoples. Like Nike said, Just Do It. Not that hard. Get off your jiggly butt and go!!!

gym intimidation***

Daily Menu:

B: PB2 & banana smoothie, muffin, & coffee. -7
S: Greek yogurt. -3
L: Turkey sandwich, carrots w/ hummus, & apple. -7
S: Banana, & cheese stick. -2
D: Sausage w/ peppers & onions, quinoa. -12
S: Chocolate, & wine. -9

One thought on “Gym Intimidation

Leave a Reply

