WIW + WIAW

Lots of Ws up there. Geez.

So today was my weigh-in day. And I was so excited to step on the scale. Mainly because I’ve been peaking at the scale all week & it showed I was down 1.5 pounds. Yeah. That wasn’t the case this morning.

Last Week: 226.2
This Week: 226.0
Change: – .2

But still a loss, baby!!

I’m down with that. Especially since its the “dreaded week 2 curse!” At least that’s what Biggest Loser says – or are they week 3? Whatever.

Week 2 is when I crave the junk. The pizza and beer night. The chocolate. The big burger with caramelized onions, blue cheese, and bacon. Please excuse me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard.

But yeah, I struggle. A lot. Week 2 is usually bad.

And last night’s dinner I was craving, of all things, salt. And anything salty. So I made turkey sausage with onions & peppers. Then I paired that with quinoa. And butter. And salt.

Did I mention I was craving salt??

And I ate a big ol’ plate of that yummy goodness.

So yeah, totally not surprised by the fact that I didn’t lose as much as I had hoped I would.

***

Daily Menu:

B: Smoothie, muffin, coffee. -5
S: Greek yogurt. -3
A: 30 minutes on the elliptical.
L: Turkey sandwich, salad, banana, cheese stick. -8
D: Subway sandwich, apple w/ PB. -6

This menu leaves me with 5 points left over. And that’s perfect because that leaves me 5 points for chocolate!!!

***

Here recently I’ve been on this total smoothie kick in the mornings. They’re easy. I can put them together the night before, except for my fruit (which I use frozen, but you can use regular & add ice instead). They are tasty. Portable.

Perfect.

But on the other hand, they’re not chewable.

I like chewing food.

I couldn’t handle a cleanse. Chewing is good.

So I got my hands on this lovely muffin recipe from a fellow WWer and a follower of mine on Facebook. They are wonderful. Super yummy. I microwave them for about 15 seconds before I eat them. It’s like my own individual banana chocolate chip nut bread.

And better yet, they’re boyfriend approved.

April’s Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Oat Muffins

Makes 28 – 30 muffins **I halved the recipe and got 14 muffins

Ingredients:

6-8 very ripe bananas (depending on size)  **I used 3 for a half recipe & it was perfect
1 cup ff plain greek yogurt or unsweetened applesauce **I used FF vanilla greek yogurt because it’s what I had on hand
4 egg whites
1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
1 ½ cups oats (original, not quick)  **No clue what I had on hand. Old. But still worked.
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup Splenda Granulated Sugar
3 tsp vanilla extract (use the good stuff – its worth it)
⅓ cup mini chocolate chips (optional)
⅓ cup crushed walnuts (optional)
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (optional)
sprinkle sprinkle of nutmeg (optional)  **I didn’t have this on hand so I didn’t use it

Instructions:

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
*Spray muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
*In a bowl, mash bananas using a fork and set aside.
*In a large bowl, cream applesauce or (yogurt), vanilla, and brown sugar, and Splenda.
*Add in egg whites and mashed bananas to wet ingredients and beat with a mixer on medium speed for 2-3 minutes.
*In a separate bowl, mix whole wheat flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda, and spices.
*Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix together until blended but not over mixed.
*Fold chocolate chips and nuts into mixture.
*Transfer mixture into muffin tins at about 1/4 cup of mixture in each.

*Bake for 18-20 minutes until a fork comes out clean.

 

Notes:

(April’s Notes) Do a small batch of 2 or 3 first to make sure you have the right consistency. Depending on the size of your bananas you might want to add a little more flour or oats to thicken. Also, sometimes I will do 1/2 cup greek yogurt, and an extra 1/2 cup of mashed bananas in place of the other 1/2 cup of yogurt/applesauce. Last time I made this recipe, I used 6 really large ripened bananas and 1/2 cup greek yogurt. They turned out great.

(My Notes) I did not make a small pre-batch. I was brave and just went for it! Or stupid? I did 7 muffins at a time since I figured I would get 14 out of the mix & wanted them to cook evenly, 18 minutes worked perfectly for me. Like I said, I used all vanilla FF greek yogurt because it’s what I had on hand. I also didn’t have seperate bowls. Again I’m either brave or stupid. I threw everything into my KitchenAid & mixed away (bananas I smashed first & then added wet ingredients then dry.) And like April said, they turn out great!!

Points Plus values – 2pts if you DON’T count the bananas & 3pts if you DO count the bananas.

Leave a Reply

