Update + Recipe Review

So I’ve been MIA for a while now. And honestly, it hasn’t been pretty. I’ve been lying to myself about how well I’m following WW. About how I’m staying on plan. About how I’m dieting. Yeah. Right. If I were doing all of those things I wouldn’t have gained back all of the weight I had lost since January 1. I’ve gotten to the point that I can’t stand the way I look. The way I feel. I feel awful. I am 10 pounds away from my highest ever adult weight. My clothes don’t fit anymore. I do not feel attractive, at all. It’s starting to effect my self confidence. Something has to change.

I considered not doing WW anymore. Of course the excuses of “its not working.” Yadda yadda. No, it works. But it requires me to do the work. And I wasn’t. I know WW works for me. I know how the plan works. I just need to put in EFFORT! I need to do it. So that’s my goal. Do it.

I’m going to try to take Sundays as a prep day. Get lunches made for the week & dinners planned out. I’m going to focus on GOOD food (not just cans of soup & a turkey sandwich). I’m going to eat food with FLAVOR. That is also healthy. I am going to allow myself to have a treat when I’m craving it. I’m going to have to put in more effort to not get bored. That’s the problem. I’m bored. And I’m lazy, let’s be honest. So this new food is also going to have to be simple. That’s a hard combo to find. Easy, tasty, healthy. So if you know of any recipes, let me know!

And speaking of recipes, I tried one I was a little leery of this weekend. I didn’t know how it was going to turn out and honestly feared it was going to be horrible and I wasted my money. Holy goodness I was wrong!!

It’s SkinnyTaste’s Dad’s Creamy¬†Cauliflower Soup. My goodness. So easy. So yummy. So going on my regular to make list!!

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp unbleached flour (all purpose is fine too)
  • 1 medium head cauliflower – chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 4 cups fat free chicken broth (vegetarians can use vegetable broth)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • hot sauce (this isn’t in her recipe, but I’m a hot sauce junky, but an FYI – a little goes a long way with this recipe)
  • minced garlic (also not part of her recipe)

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, make a roux by melting the butter on low heat. Add the flour and stir about 2 minutes.

Add the chicken broth, onions and cauliflower and set heat to medium. Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer over medium-low heat until vegetables are tender (about 20
minutes.) Puree with an immersion blender until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

Like I said, I added hot sauce as well, and I may have added too much. But I think the garlic & hot sauce made it awesome. My immersion blender left some chunks. Maybe I didn’t have the patience to mess with it. Or maybe I need a better one (my stick kept falling off). Next time I will probably transfer to a regular blender and blend until smooth. Also, 4 cups of chicken broth made for a fairly thick soup. So if you like yours thinner I would suggest adding more liquid.

The boyfriend refuses to try and said it “Smells like butt”. And I’ll be honest, it did stink while it was cooking. But my goodness it is AMAZING!!! And only 2pts for a 1.25 cup serving. Seriously, going to be a lunch time staple.

Leave a Reply

