Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars - E. Lockhart

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

Wow.

That’s all I have to say about this book. Just wow.

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

As you can see, I read this book in no time. I started it Saturday morning and finished it by dinner time. I couldn’t put it down.

At first I thought it was weird. Hard to follow. I couldn’t tell by the description what the book was to be about. So I had no clue if the book was going to be about lies or truth. Truth or lies. At times I didn’t know what was going on. It took a bit before I fully understood the book.

But the “Liars” the book talks about is a group of 4 cousins (well, 3 and a friend). They are known as the Liars. Why? I never really figured that part out.

It begins one summer, summer 15 as they call it. There is a romance. And then the summer ends with an accident. Next year the Liars do not meet up. The main character can not remember the accident. What happened? Why? Finally, during summer 17 she is reunited with the Liars and she pieces together the accident. The events leading up to it and after it.

I also found it very fitting that this book was about a group of cousins who see each other over the summers. They pick up where they left off. The rest of the year they don’t talk as often. This book was a Christmas present from my cousin. Who I don’t talk to nearly enough and I see her even less.

Other than that, this book did not parallel my life in any way.

Once I got into the book I couldn’t put it down. I sat all day reading. I didn’t want to get up and eat, I wanted to read. When I did finish it I was surprised. I sat the book down, looked at Mr. Chocolate, and just said “wow”. Just like I started this post.

Wow. It’s the only way I know how to describe the book.

4.5 stars

 

 

 

All opinions expressed are 100% mine. No one contacted me asking me to read or review this book. These are my own thoughts & feelings towards it. In no way was I compensated for this review.

Leave a Reply

