I’m just pretending to be an adult, mom.

That’s what The Squirt told me the other day. Well, me and his mom.

My witty comeback to that, “So are we, kid. So are we.”

And at times, it really feels like I’m just going through the motions of adulting. I don’t know how to adult. It’s not as easy as it looks. You have to be responsible and shit. I’m not good at being responsible.

Adulting is a lot of work. I don’t know how our parents did it. Keeping the house clean. Paying the bills. Making the money. It’s hard work. Making sure there is food on the table and the kids (yes, 4 legged furry ones count too) are taken care of. Some days it’s all I can do to make sure I have clean clothes to wear to work. And I’m expected to take care of these fuzzy, 4 legged creatures?? I can’t imagine when I have screaming 2 legged creatures.

adulting book

Adulting is such hard work there’s even a book on how to do it. And you know what, there are 468 steps in this book. That’s insanity. 468 steps to tell me how to be an adult. I don’t have time to read 468 steps on how to be an adult, I’m too busy adulting and shit.

I usually feel like I have everything together. That I’m doing pretty good with things. Like cooking Thanksgiving dinner, I felt in control. And then I have a few days of acting like a kid again, and my adulting goes out the window. I watch a TV show and it makes me realize how I don’t have things figured out. I look in my fridge & realize that things are pretty sad for myself and the furbabies as far as food options are concerned.

adulting

The best part about adulting, though, is realizing that you’re not doing it alone. That you’re not the only one who doesn’t know what stage in life they’re in. You’re not the only one who didn’t see this as their life plan. And you know, you also realize that even the ones whose life did go as planned, still don’t feel like they’re doing that good of a job at adulting. They still sit around with the girls, a bottle of wine, and wonder how they take care of everything.

I think being in our late 20s is hard. We’re at that point where a family is expected, or we already have one. Settling down is the norm. We’re supposed to have steady jobs and provide. But at the same time, we still want to go to the bar and watch the football game. Have girls night and drink too much wine with dinner. The beginning stages of adulting, we’re still just figuring it all out. We don’t know what we’re doing. Its all trial and error until we think we’ve gotten it right. And occasionally, we still have a moment where we slip back into kid mode. Stay in our PJ’s all day and basically throw a temper tantrum at life. No! I will not adult today! Not going to happen!! (That was today, by the way.)

I think the hardest part about adulting, though, isn’t in figuring out what you’re doing. It’s accepting where you are in life. If that means you’re a wife and mom of two, but didn’t see that happening for you. If you’re a newly single, out on her own again, girl. If you’re the never been in a serious relationship, but wants to have children and be a wife and mother, you’re just not there yet. The hardest part of adulting is that even if we had a 5 or 10 year plan, things don’t go as planned. And realizing that we have to throw that plan out of the window every so often and just roll with it.

And Google. Sometimes you just have to google shit to help figure it all out.

adulting google

Leave a Reply

